Our story

1990's

Our gypsy wagon

started its life as a

Boags Brewery Wagon
in Tasmania

In the early 1900’s It was used for delivering beer to the many Launceston hotels and was eventually converted into a passenger carriage and used to take tourists around the historic village of Richmond until 2015.

New Era
After 2016 it was decided

by Colin and Jeanette Hatcher

To convert the wagon into an authentic handcrafted gypsy wagon, a lot of research has been done to make it as authentic as possible.

NOW

Glamping Stay

They give a hint of rustic life, with a dash of glamour tinged with the romance of Romany life. The Gypsy wagon has been lovingly built and contain a mixture of authentic features as well as modern touches and are cosy and warm and comfortable.

Just a short walk to Hatcher’s Restaurant for unique and friendly service , a fully licensed fine restaurant with its own expert chef. Come and enjoy the finest of Tasmanian gourmet food and wines! , breakfast is available in the restaurant if you don’t want to get your own in the gypsy wagon.

The wagon is fully air-conditioned , sleeps 2 people in the queen size bed, all linen is supplied, we have a kitchenette with microwave, toaster, tea and coffee facilities supplied , there is a fully functioning bathroom with shower and Toilet, a lounge, TV, parking at your door , also a separate camp kitchen has gas BBQ and sink, out door setting with outdoor fire pit when there are no fire restrictions in place in Richmond.

Cooking is Al Fresco and outside all is a BBQ, Fire pit and Picnic bench and we are Pet friendly.

Royal Wagon Stay

  • Queen bed1
  • Adults2
  • Air-conditioner
  • Television
  • Toilet
  • Shower

kitchenette

  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Coffee/Tea

Outdoor

  • BBQ
  • Picnic Bench
  • Fire Pit
  • Camp Kitchen
  • Al-Fresco Cooking

Restaurant

  • Hatcher's Restaurant
  • Breakfast
  • Gourmet Food
  • Wine

Explore Richmond

Experience Glamping set amongst our 100 acre working farm and orchard on the beautiful Coal River just 20 Minutes from Hobart Woodburn Farm is one of Tasmania's most historical farms. Granted to Gilbert Robertson, the Chief Constable of the Coal River area in the 1820's. Land for St Johns Church (the oldest Catholic Church in Australia) was donated by the second owner of Woodburn, Mr John Cassidy in the 1830's.

Richmond’s most famous landmark is the Richmond Bridge, built by convicts during 1823 to 1825, around the time of the town’s first settlement. It is Australia’s oldest bridge still in use. St John’s Catholic Church was built in 1836, and is considered the oldest Roman Catholic Church in Australia. The land for St Johns Catholic Church was donated from Woodburn Farm in the 1830’s by the farm owner Mr John Cassidy and the farm land still adjoins the graveyard of St Johns Church, Many early convicts who were buried without head stones are still on part of Woodburn Farm The town was initially part of the route between Hobart and Port Arthur until the Sorell Causeway was constructed in 1872. Present-day Richmond is best known as being preserved as it was at that time. It is a vibrant tourist town, with many of the sandstone structures still standing.

Book Now

Closest Landmarks

  • Richmond Bridge - the oldest bridge in Australia

  • Richmond Goal - museum of Australia's oldest gaol.

  • Zoo Doo - Australian native animals.

  • Old Hobart Town 1820's model Hobart village.

  • Richmond Maze.

  • 3 nearby Golf Courses.

  • Visit nearby wineries and cellars.

  • Browse the art & craft shops.

  • Have an old -time portrait taken of the family.

  • Bonorong Wildlife Park - Tasmanian devils.

  • Wilderness Scenic Air Tours.

  • Sorell Fruit Farm - pick your own fruit.

  • Peppercorn Gallery - Artworks by Tasmanian artists.

  • Saddlers Court Gallery -Fine Tasmanian paintings ceramics,
    turned wood, glass and jewellery.
Local Attraction
Local Attraction
Local Attraction
Local Attraction
Local Attraction
Local Attraction
Local Attraction
Local Attraction
Local Attraction
Local Attraction

Thousands of years
of Gypsy Wagon History

Roma (Gypsies) originated in the Punjab region of northern India as a nomadic people and entered Europe between the eighth and tenth centuries C.E. They were called "Gypsies" because Europeans mistakenly believed they came from Egypt. This minority is made up of distinct groups called "tribes" or "nations."

New genetic studies have found that Europe's largest minority group, the Romani, migrated from northwest India 1,500 years ago.

The Romani lived in gaily painted horse drawn wagons and were known for their horsemanship and colourful tradition of song, music and story-telling.

Gypsies have long been among the most mysterious, exotic peoples on earth. They have been described as a race of nomads, who have no real home. Gypsies do have their own language, Romani, and they identify themselves as Romani people.

Gypsy history remained unknown for centuries, largely because they had no written language, and strangely enough, they had forgotten where they came from. Europeans eventually discovered that the Romani language is related to certain dialects of India, and from there Gypsy history was gradually put together.

Gypsies are reported in Serbia in 1348; Croatia in 1362 (as goldsmiths); and Romania in 1378—as slaves put to work as barbers, tailors, bakers, masons, and household servants.

Modern day Romani people are known for their strong family connections and often marry within their group. Gypsy weddings are extravagant, vibrant and colourful events.

Get in Touch

We are walking distance, just over the Historic Richmond Bridge, to Australia finest Georgian village. Ideal location for glamping , close to the coal River , lots of native animals live near the river , situated just 20 minutes from Hobart Airport makes Glamping Gypsy of Richmond the ideal location for a different holiday or that romantic night in our authentic Gypsy wagon.

You can just relax, take in the local scenery and enjoy the Hobart surrounds.


Enquiry Form